EFL Carabao Cup TV listings

Sunday, 27 February 2022
EFL Carabao Cup
Sky Sports Ultra HD
Sky Sports Main Event
Sky Sports Football
Now, there are 1 EFL Carabao Cup live televised matches and 3 TV channels will broadcast each and every one of them. The next match you will be able to enjoy is Final () and it will be played next 27 February 2022 at 00:00 televised by Sky Sports Ultra HD, Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Football.

The EFL Cup is one of the English Cup tournaments. It was founded in 1960 and its first champion was the Aston Villa team. The Birmingham team beat Rotherham United in a two-legged tie by a 3-2 aggregate result.

Unlike the FA Cup, only professional teams participate in this competition. It is made up of 92 teams from the Premier League, the Championship, League One and League Two.

The EFL Cup consists of seven rounds that are played as a single match until the semifinals, which are played in a round-trip format. Teams participating in European competitions are incorporated in the third phase. The rest of the Premier League debuts in the second round. And the clubs in the lower divisions kick off the competition. Since 2018, in the event of a tie, the match is decided in the penalty shoot-out without the need to play an extension.

During the first seven editions, the final was played back and forth. It was in 1967 when he decided to only meet. The game for the title is played at Wembley Stadium, this being the only one in the entire tournament that is played on a neutral field and on a weekend day.

Despite being one of the four tournaments that can be won in English football, the truth is that the EFL Cup does not have the prestige of the FA Cup. The champion only receives £ 100,000 as a financial prize. A very poor amount for Premier League teams that make a lot of money from TV rights sharing. This fact, together with the great overload of matches on the calendar, causes the biggest clubs to use the competition to give minutes to the youngest players in the squad and to the youth players.

The name of the tournament has changed according to the different sponsorship agreements signed by the English Football League. In 1981, the Milk Marketing Board was the first company to give the competition its own name and was renamed the Milk Cup. Today, it is also known as the Carabao Cup.

The rights of the EFL Cup on television are distributed in the same package together with those of the Premier League, so it is generally always the same channel that broadcasts the two competitions.